UbiSoft's DRM now requires completely online usage

Where we bitch about retard n00bs - online and offline.

UbiSoft's DRM now requires completely online usage

Postby Ddrak » Sun Feb 21, 2010 8:16 pm

http://arstechnica.com/gaming/news/2010 ... o-play.ars
http://www.computerandvideogames.com/ar ... 0&site=pcg

Sorry, but being booted to the last checkpoint if my DSL hiccups and the complete absence of offline play isn't a feature - it's broken.

Don't buy this. The pirates have a much better product.

Dd
Image
User avatar
Ddrak
Save a Koala, deport an Australian
 
Posts: 17408
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 3:00 pm
Location: EQ2: Blackburrow

Re: UbiSoft's DRM now requires completely online usage

Postby xilly » Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:42 am

I wonder if this is going to extend into console gaming as well, with the launch of UPlay (Which was bundled in with Assassin's Creed II).
Reviews Editor - Frontburnr | Twitter
User avatar
xilly
Knight of the sWordz
 
Posts: 554
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:48 am
Location: My house

Re: UbiSoft's DRM now requires completely online usage

Postby Taxious » Mon Feb 22, 2010 12:34 pm

Are they trying to lose customers or something? Stuff like this is a huge red flag for me when I'm about to purchase a game. I guess I'll stay away from purchasing UbiSoft products now as the online-only DRM is pretty retarded to deal with after having to pay for a game.

I know it's not UbiSoft, but I remember being excited to play Spore until all the DRM shit came up with it. It seems like these companies would learn their lessons. Some of those Amazon reviews were pretty hilarious, though.
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.
User avatar
Taxious
Rum Guzzler
 
Posts: 5054
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 10:16 am
Location: Denver, CO

Re: UbiSoft's DRM now requires completely online usage

Postby Falundir X`Viento » Mon Feb 22, 2010 3:36 pm

This is VERY interesting. Some of you might remember the most recent Prince of Persia where they decided to ship it with no DRM as an experiment. I guess we just got the results of that experiment...
Image
Falundir X`Viento
Knight of the Rose Croix (zomg French)
 
Posts: 724
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 5:54 am

Re: UbiSoft's DRM now requires completely online usage

Postby Taxious » Fri Mar 05, 2010 3:22 pm

This cracked me up! I'll say I wasn't surprised, but breaking down the DRM in 24 hours is still pretty funny.

http://www.infoaddict.com/ubisofts-new-drm-cracked-in-under-25-hours
Well, Ubisoft’s master plan has collapsed in under 24-hours, as infamous cracker group Skid-Row has tackled the new DRM and rendered it useless, meaning the only people now suffering with this ridiculous DRM are legitimate owners.
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.
User avatar
Taxious
Rum Guzzler
 
Posts: 5054
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 10:16 am
Location: Denver, CO

Re: UbiSoft's DRM now requires completely online usage

Postby Ddrak » Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:44 pm

I figured it would happen. lol@ubi

Dd
Image
User avatar
Ddrak
Save a Koala, deport an Australian
 
Posts: 17408
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 3:00 pm
Location: EQ2: Blackburrow

Re: UbiSoft's DRM now requires completely online usage

Postby Ddrak » Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:15 pm

And now, only the pirates can play!

http://www.joystiq.com/2010/03/07/ubiso ... s-creed-2/

Earlier today, our tips inbox and the official Assassin's Creed 2 forum were set ablaze by incensed owners of the PC version of the aforementioned Italian revenge epic. According to numerous reports from prospective players of the game, Ubisoft's DRM authentification servers have crashed, forcing some players to suffer lengthy login periods when booting up Assassin's Creed 2, and locking some folks out of the game entirely.

A Ubisoft representative responded to a particularly rage-filled forum thread, stating "clearly the extended downtime and lengthy login issues are unacceptable, particularly as I've been told these servers are constantly monitored." The representative added "I'll do what I can to get more information on what the issue is here first thing tomorrow and push for a resolution and assurance this won't happen in the future." We've got a really great suggestion for how to make such an assurance: Find a less abominable DRM policy.


Hahahahahahahaha!

Dd
Image
User avatar
Ddrak
Save a Koala, deport an Australian
 
Posts: 17408
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 3:00 pm
Location: EQ2: Blackburrow

Re: UbiSoft's DRM now requires completely online usage

Postby Taxious » Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:06 am

lololol
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.
User avatar
Taxious
Rum Guzzler
 
Posts: 5054
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 10:16 am
Location: Denver, CO

Re: UbiSoft's DRM now requires completely online usage

Postby Garrdor » Wed Mar 17, 2010 11:27 am

:lol:

DRM doesn't work and just pisses off potentially loyal customers.
Image
Didn't your mama ever tell you not to tango with a carrot?
User avatar
Garrdor
Damnit Jim!
 
Posts: 2924
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2002 9:02 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: UbiSoft's DRM now requires completely online usage

Postby Ddrak » Wed Mar 17, 2010 8:04 pm

This made me get it on PS3 rather than PC.

Dd
Image
User avatar
Ddrak
Save a Koala, deport an Australian
 
Posts: 17408
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 3:00 pm
Location: EQ2: Blackburrow


Return to Gaming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron